Bringing out the animal

Hooking animals is great fun. You can incorporate all kinds of different materials for fur, feathers and faces. Tweed is a favourite of mine for hooking a tabby cat.

Black and White Houndstooth plaid is another favourite for hooking primitive chickens.

Sometimes I hook in the whiskers, other times, not. I’ve also added some thin embroidery floss as whiskers by knotting it in the back of the rug. I’ve heard some use dental floss as well. Finely shaded rugs create realism whereas a primitive style mat evokes a bit of folk art fantasy.

I love getting commissions for pets. Before you accept a commission, it is a good idea to agree upon the colours, size and style of hooking. I usually request half payment once I get going on it. It is easy to email the buyer pictures of the rug’s progress and it gives the buyer a sense of inclusion in the process. Sometimes I will need to change something and I will send them a quick email to verify this is ok. A little bit of courtesy can prevent a myriad of misunderstandings later on.

Skyler’s Rug, for my son.

Leave a comment